So I Said, “Sure”.

First, over the weekend we got some farm-type chores done, which was great. Tom planted sunflowers, Jerusalem artichokes and some tulips. I also got my seedlings planted at the end of last week and in the greenhouse sprouting. That makes me happy and makes me think Spring is coming. I cleaned up three bags of dog poop, which sadly didn’t make much of a dent. I also cleaned out the chicken laying boxes and laid down fresh hay for them to hopefully lay eggs atop. So far, just poop, no eggs. I’ll give the ladies a pep talk later today.

img_1099-1

This morning I went to the local coffee place/feed store for chicken feed and a latte for me.

The craziest decision over the weekend was that when my husband suggested we give 75 HARD a try, I said, “sure.”

If you aren’t familiar, here is what is included in 75 HARD- For 75 days, each and every day, you must

  • Follow an eating plan that will benefit your physical health
  • do two 45-minute workouts, with one taking place outside
  • drink 1 gallon of water
  • read 10 pages in a book, can’t be an audible book reading to you
  • take a progress photo (doesn’t need to be shared- just for yourself)
  • No alcohol (some people say it can be included if it works in your health plan- but I chose no alcohol)

Why would I say yes to this?

  1. I’ve already got the water and the reading part done, no problem.
  2. It’s good to challenge yourself regularly.
  3. This is obviously a mental game and mental discipline is so important, especially as someone who lives with a chronic illness and therefore so much out of my control on a regular basis.
  4. Everyone who I have known personally who has accomplished this is also someone who is already in a badass-human category for a different reason. I’d like to be in that category for someone else someday.
  5. I like to be proud of myself.
  6. It’s good to do hard things.
  7. Summer is coming. I don’t mind toning up a wee bit.
  8. The second workout that is the outdoor workout will most likely end up being with my husband and I don’t hate the idea of spending 45 minutes together each day, even if we’re just gritting our teeth and hating the moment fully- but doing so together.
  9. There is a child who is always watching us.
  10. It’s just 75 days.
img_1137-1

Today is day two. Please enjoy my initial thoughts:

  • Even if you can’t see the hill, your body still knows you’re going up it.
  • I did triceps pushups yesterday for the first time in a long time- did not miss them.
  • 110 grams of protein per day is SO. MUCH. FOOD. If Costco is out of chicken, egg whites and protein powder- sorry, that was me.
img_1131-1
  • It’s very dark at 5 in the morning. Here’s a picture of our farm from the top of a distant hill.

Today when we got back from our walk this little moo was waiting for us to say ‘good morning’.

img_1146-1

Want to come along on this journey with me? I’ll check in here from time to time. So far my workouts are walking and I’m doing 80 Day Obsession for the other one because that’s my favorite weight training program and it’s long enough to hit the 45 minute mark.

CHEERS! (Well, non-alcoholic cheers!)

3 thoughts on “So I Said, “Sure”.

Leave a comment