Blueberry Breakfast Cookies

comment 1
Cooking with POTS & Pans / Uncategorized

Breakfast + cookies= probably gonna be good.  My aunt found a great deal on blueberries yesterday and brought me a bunch!  I froze some and left the rest out for cereal and baking with now.  I posted a picture of one on my Facebook this morning and the people want the recipe.  This recipe comes from the blog Sally’s Baking Addiction, which is a favorite of mine for recipes!  She rarely disappoints.

I didn’t plan on posting this one so I didn’t take a bunch of step by step pictures, but it’s simple.  Most importantly, it only uses one bowl; and you know I hate pretentious 3 and 4 bowl recipes.  Nonsense.

First, look at this and know that if you have the ingredients you could have this on a plate in about 25 minutes.

IMG_0044

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 1/2 Cups of old fashioned oats
  • 1 Cup nut butter (whichever you prefer, I used peanut butter)
  • 1/3 Cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I did a whole teaspoon because I really like cinnamon)
  • 1 Cup washed blueberries (fresh or frozen- if frozen don’t thaw)

You can also add 1/2 Cup of chopped pecans or walnuts.  Maple syrup can be used as a substitute for honey as well.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325º.  Line two small baking sheets with parchment paper (I used tin foil because it’s way cheaper and this is my kitchen so I do what I want and they turned out fiiine) and spray cooking spray.

2. Mix all ingredients together either by hand or using a stand mixer. Add the blueberries last and stir gently so they don’t break up.

3. Drop 1/4 cup sized cookies onto pan and flatten down with your hand.  The recipe makes 12 large cookies, 6 per pan.  They don’t spread out as they bake so don’t worry if they are close together.

4. Bake 19-21 minutes, or until golden around the edges and bottom.

I transferred mine to a wire cooling rack once I pulled them out of the oven.  Without the chopped nuts they are 244 calories per cookie and 5 grams of protein.  I know that’s a high calorie count, but they are not empty calories.  Essentially it’s a bowl of oatmeal with yummy toppings in cookie form.

Eat it with a piece of fruit and a cup of coffee and your day is suddenly more delicious than it previously was.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

