Coffee Butter

Leave a comment
Cooking with POTS & Pans / Uncategorized

Not coffee with butter in it (which is a thing), but butter with coffee in it.  My sister-in-law sent me the recipe one day and told me make it and let her know if it’s any good.  Sometimes she has me preview recipes for her.  I just wait until I have a good day with minimal symptoms and a bit of energy, then it’s go time.

This recipe is from Tastingtable.com. My only real gripe with their recipe is the part that says it is 15 minutes, plus overnight time to steep.  15 minutes, my ass!

Here’s what you need:

  • 3/4 cup ground coffee
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 Tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • cheese cloth for straining

20170730_115136

Directions

In an airtight container pour the cream and ground coffee.  Mix it up really well.  Then tuck it in to sleep in the fridge overnight.

20170730_115145

Here’s an action shot for y’all:

20170730_115205

The next morning, strain the milk fat through cheese cloth, keeping all of the coffee grounds out.  If you don’t  have cheese cloth (because you asked at Walmart and they pointed you to the Dairy section), you can use a wet flour sack towel.  I tried paper towels and coffee filters, they were both a fail.  The flour sack towel worked the best.

20170731_105401

I found using these clips helped too.  Once all of the liquid is pressed through, discard the remaining grounds and transfer the liquid into a food processor.  Add the powdered sugar and salt then turn it on low.  Let it spin around until it starts to form butter-like clumps. I stopped mine when it looked like this.

20170731_111551

Next, take it out of the bowl onto another wet flour sack dish towel to push remaining liquid out.  If you have cheese cloth, you can also wring it out with that.  The dark liquid is what I got out.

20170731_111803

20170731_112249

You end up with this wonderous substance.  I suggest serving it with scones.  Today I made mini cream cheese lemon scones.  I told Tom that I didn’t know if they would be any good.  He said he thinks I’m so weird that I don’t just always make the same recipe that is already proven to be delicious.  I explained that I change it up when I don’t have certain ingredients; he said if he didn’t have those ingredients he just wouldn’t make scones.  Nonsense.

2017-07-31_16.10.10

Eat it immediately or throw it in the fridge with a smile on your face, knowing there will be coffee butter in your future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

