A Visit From the Priority Fairy

comment 1
Bobby Pins & Bullets / Deep Thoughts About POTS / Uncategorized

What’s that, you ask?  A Priority Fairy is someone I just made up, but I am pretty sure it could be real.  Do you ever have a moment when something just immediately strikes you and you make a huge realization, or things are just put into perspective clearly?

The Priority Fairy recently struck in my house.  Allow me to share.

One thing that has remained the same since before my diagnosis is our bedtime routine.  If I am home at the time that Tom is getting home from work and going to sleep, we always go to bed the same way.  I lay a specific way with him laying on me in a such a way that my left hand is available and in position to rub his back, which I do every night (morning) while he falls asleep.  My right hand is almost always holding my phone and scrolling through Pinterest or Facebook.  I do this while he falls asleep.

A week or so ago I happened to have my phone charging leaving my right hand free.  Tom reached across me and grabbed my hand.  As he did he said, “it’s rare to find this hand free without a phone in it”.  I don’t think he meant anything earth-shattering by the comment, but it struck me.  How in the world am I so busy or preoccupied with reading recipes and crafts that I don’t have time to hold this man’s hand?

I let that sink in for a second and I just couldn’t find any way to justify doing anything other than holding his hand.  In fact, I can’t believe that I get to be the woman who holds his hand.

I don’t really make resolutions, but I am a work in progress and I always have personal goals that I am trying to attain and maintain.

This is one of my newest goals, because after all, what an honor it is to hold his hand.

2014-10-06_00821

A few days ago, I was laying on our bed reading a story on my phone when Carter came to get me to tell me it was bedtime.  The reason he came to tell me is because he wanted me to come and read him his Boxcar children book, like we always enjoy together.  I was finishing something up on my phone when he said, “you can bring your phone if you need to, and you can send messages while you are reading to me.  Sometimes other people do that.”

My heart instantly broke a little bit.  This little man is deserving of 100% of my attention.  Again, how blessed am I that I get to read him books at bedtime and watch his sweet face drift off to sleep.

Technology can be truly fantastic, but don’t forget that the world is still happening around you and your technology.

technology

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

