‘Tis the Season for Eggnog Donuts

eggnog-donuts

Tom is strict about when Eggnog is allowed in the house.  You see, it doesn’t matter when it is available in the stores.  I started seeing it before Halloween, but it’s not technically allowed in the house until December 1st, but occasionally around Thanksgiving he’ll allow it.

Now that it is officially legal to have it in the house, it’s time for Eggnog everything.

I woke up today feeling not amazing and not excited about the day.  I don’t like when days start out like that so I decided to make a pot of coffee, do one thing productive (unload the dishes), and then find something fun to bake as my prize.

Eggnog donuts with eggnog glaze won.  They are delicious.  I don’t know if they are a regular in most donut shops because I’ve never seen them before, but they definitely should be a seasonal treat.

I found this recipe from the Wonky Wonderful blog.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons salted butter-softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup full fat eggnog

For the glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons eggnog
  • nutmeg to sprinkle on top

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  This is where I put my butter to ‘soften’ while the oven preheats.  Probably just because that’s what my mom used to do.

butter

2. Mix flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

3. Cream sugar and butter.  Add egg and eggnog.

cream

4. Gradually add the dry ingredients.

5. Spray the donut pan with non-stick spray.  P.S. look how cute my tiny Christmas sweater nails are!

pam

6. Fill each donut well 2/3 of the way full.  The easiest way to do this is to fill a ziplock bag with the batter and cut a corner off and squeeze it out there.

eggnog-donuts2

7. Bake for 12-13 minutes.

** I took this time to eat my wheat bran because I believe in breakfast before breakfast dessert. **

8. Transfer donuts to cooling rack.   Let them cool fully before dipping them in glaze.

9. Before you glaze the donuts, lay our a sheet of tin foil beneath the cooling rack to catch all the sticky drips.  Mix the powdered sugar and eggnog.  Dip each donut into the glaze and set on the cooling rack to harden.  Dip each one a second time and sprinkle nutmeg on top.

10.  Enjoy with your coffee.  Now you’re having a better day.  Take control of your day and make it what you want it to be.

eggnog-donuts

 

 

6 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season for Eggnog Donuts

  1. Sheila says:

    OH YUM! I LOVE EGGNOG FLAVORED ANYTHING! My Dad was the milkman so we got to drink as much as we wanted. I LOVE eggnog ice cream as well. LOVE your tiny Christmas sweater nails, too!
    Sheila

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen Mainini says:

    First I must say that I love the nails, super cool. Secondly these eggnog donuts sound just delicious and I may try them, do you think it would work in a muffin pan instead as I do not have donut pan. I have a yummy recipe for Eggnog Spice Bundt Cake, let me know if you want it, it’s super easy to make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

