DIY Fall Décor: Burlap Candy Corn Banner

If you happen to love Fall and Fall décor as much as I do, you’re in the right place.  I recently saw this little idea online and had to instantly drop everything and recreate it.

burlap-banner-done

It took exactly the amount of time as me sitting and watching an episode of Survivor takes.  So to translate, that’s just less than an hour.  I’m sure if you move quickly and have great hot glue gun skills it would be even less.

Supplies:

  • burlap fabric
  • acrylic paint (orange, yellow and white) and brush
  • scissors
  • twine or jute
  • hot glue gun & hot glue stick
  • a way to secure it wherever you are securing it
  • Piece of cardboard (it doesn’t have to be a Lean Pockets box, but it’s obviously preferred over a Hot Pockets box. I kid, I kid.)

burlap-banner-supplies

Directions:

I realize this step-by-step probably isn’t really needed for all you super high-level crafters, but I’ll break it down just in case.

Step 1: Cut yourself a candy corn template out of your piece of cardboard.  Also known as a triangle; cut a triangle.

Step 2: Trace out however many candy corn pieces you will want and cut them out.  (I typed candy corns, but I’m pretty sure that is wrong.)

burlap-banner-cut

Step 3: Now is the part where you will burn the flesh off of your hands.  You have to commit to the craft.  I find it’s a little easier to lay a piece of cardboard down to give the burlap something to hold onto. Fold a piece of the top of the triangle over the twine and hot glue it either to itself or a piece of cardboard.  Try not to swear while you burn your finners (fingers).

burlap-banner-gluing

Step 4: Flip your banner over and get to painting.

burlap-banner-painted

Step 5: Let it dry then hang it somewhere perfect in your house.  Oh, and while you have the orange, yellow, and white out you might as well YouTube some Bob Ross and whip up a painting!  Here’s mine.  Be gentle.  It’s best from about 20-50 feet away.  I should have had Tom run to the end of the driveway and hold it so I could take a picture.

bob-ross-painting

bob-ross-meme2

 

Leave a Reply

