If POTS had an Anthem

comments 5
Deep Thoughts About POTS

I found our anthem.  It speaks to so many of the conditions of this syndrome including body temperature regulation issues, inability to commit to showing up somewhere due to symptoms and flares, being upright one second then passed out another, fighting with your body one moment and loving it another, and the frustrations of having to stay home while knowing that going out will only cause more problems.

That’s right, I found a song that encompasses all of these symptoms.  Would you be surprised to hear that Katie Perry sings our song?

Check out the chorus of Hot N Cold:

‘Cause you’re hot then you’re cold
You’re yes then you’re no
You’re in then you’re out
You’re up then you’re down
You’re wrong when it’s right
It’s black and it’s white
We fight, we break up
We kiss, we make up
(You) You don’t really want to stay, no
(You) But you don’t really want to go-o
You’re hot then you’re cold
You’re yes then you’re no
You’re in then you’re out
You’re up then you’re down

I had a good laugh when I heard this song the other day and realized how much it is talking about POTS and our symptoms.

I came to this realization last night while I was in the middle of one of my episodes of way too hot, then freezing cold, then way too hot, then shaky, then all over again.  It’s somewhat to having a fever.  It’s not as much fun.  This picture I took makes me laugh though because you can see my sweater in the background laying on the floor.

hot-and-cold

I’ve noticed that the change of seasons seems to elevate these symptoms with temperature.

Sweating is controlled by the autonomic nervous system.  Since the autonomic nervous system is a bit faulty in those who have dysautonomia, it obviously causes problems.  Some people don’t sweat at all which is a big issue.  I sweat far too much, which although it helps to regulate temperature, it also leads to dehydration much faster.

Come on autonomic nervous system… get it together!

Oh, and P.S. I ordered some of the new NormaLyte!  It was created with us POTSIES in mind as it is electrolytes, but has no artificial sweeteners, colors, flavors, dyes, or preservatives.

The reviews I’ve read are mixed.  Some say adding it to lemon water is a refreshing treat.  Others say they don’t like the flavor so they mix it in a ‘sports drink’ which seems a little counteractive to me.  I can’t wait to try it out though and I’ll be sure to report back with my thoughts.  It would be nice to have an alternative to the sugars of Gatorade, although I can’t tolerate drinking icky drinks if I’m already nauseas.

So, we shall see!  I hope this little post finds you all having a fantastic day!

5 Comments

  1. isp541 says

    I was thinking, “Let the bodies hit the floor, let the bodies hit the floor . 1. Somethings wrong with me 2. Somethings wrong with me……..3. Somethings got to give…..Whaaaaaaaaa!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

