Whole Wheat Cinnamon Peach Scones

comments 2
Cooking with POTS & Pans / Uncategorized

I done made my very own recipe, folks.

It’s true.  This was my first time really experimenting on my own with varying ingredients and trying to keep health somewhat in mind.  It turned out edible.  Not just edible, but delicious and filling.

Each scone is about 282 calories, which I know seems high, but they each have 7 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber.  I’ve been trying to focus more on calories that aren’t ’empty’.

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Peach Scones

I believe in scones.  Deep in my heart I love them.  I don’t have a whole lot of self control with scones, which usually leads me to share with people every time I make a batch.  If you see me mention making them on facebook, be sure to wander by later that day.  I took one of these peach ones to my physical therapist the other day and he said it was a darn good thing I brought one because he had been having a seriously sconeless day until then.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 stick of cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon cinnamon (depending on how much you love it)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  •  1 cup peaches cut into small bite-size pieces

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and sugar.  Use a pastry cutter to cut in the cubes of butter.  Work with it until it resembles a crumb-like texture.  (If you don’t have a pastry cutter, you can use your fingers to blend until it resembles the same texture).
  3. In a small bowl beat the eggs and mix in the almond milk and the vanilla extract.
  4. Add in about half of the egg and milk mixture into the flour mixture and mix until it resembles a dough.  If it is not sticking together well, add in more of the liquid mixture.  I ended up using about 3/4 of my mixture.
  5. Flour your workspace (I like to use a large plastic cutting board) and pour out the dough.  Knead it a few times and then gently add in the peaches until they are evenly spread throughout.
  6. Pat the dough into a circle that is about 1/2 inch thick.  Flour your knife and cut the circle into 8 wedges.  Transfer each wedge to the baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 14 to 17 minutes until golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  8. Transfer to a cooling rack.  They can be stored in an air tight container if you don’t eat them all immediately.

 

peach scones baking

Serve with fresh peach slices and cool whip.  Spray some cool whip for your dog too.

Hero cool whip

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Colleen Knauber says

    They were delicious….I think I’ll try them with berries instead of peaches. I also am going to try a smaller size since I don’t always have the self control to eat half 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Da** girl! You need to share that kind of deliciousness! Next time I will be watching your Facebook closer so maybe I can drop by that same day. Those look so tasty!! And actually, 282 calories for a scone is not bad at all! I used to do a ton of healthy baking back in the day. I had the same motive in mind. I wanted to be able to eat delicious treats without a ton of calories and/or empty calories. It’s quite fun once you get brave enough to experiment and twist the recipes to your own liking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

