Peach Coffee Cake- ‘if I had my little way, I’d eat peaches everyday’

comments 5
Cooking with POTS & Pans / Uncategorized

Who recognizes those lyrics?

Movin’ to the country, gonna eat me a lot of peaches.  Millions of peaches, peaches for me.  Millions of peaches, peaches for free.  -from the song ‘Peaches’ by the Presidents of the United States of America.  I don’t know how that became a popular song, but during a stage of my life, it was.

In our case, we don’t have a peach tree yet, so peaches are not free.  My parents went to Greenbluff yesterday to get peaches and I asked my mom if she would bring me some too.  She asked if I wanted a lug.  Come again?

Apparently a lug is an agricultural unit, somewhat less than a bushel.  I don’t like when an answer includes another term I’m not familiar with (I have heard it in nursery rhymes I’m pretty sure, but I couldn’t actually describe the amount).  One time I was at the grocery store and I needed to buy eggroll wrappers.  I asked the cute 14-year-old stock boy and he kindly told me that they are by the kimchi, which to me was equivalent to saying that they are by the spaceships.  A few weeks ago Tom and I accidentally did a husband and wife fix-it project, which I generally try to avoid.  The blade for the band saw came off the track.  I was doing a lot of standing and holding and not contributing words.  At one point Tom explained to me, “you know, it’s just like putting a fan belt on.” I bit my tongue, but between you and I, I’ve never actually put a fan belt onto anything in my 29 years of life.

Anyways, a lug is also used to describe a crate or box for carrying fruit.  I went ahead and got a lug of peaches.  I plan to peel and slice up a bunch to freeze for peach frozen yogurt and smoothies, but I also wanted to find something delicious to make right away.

I adapted this recipe from the Brown Eyed Baker, but I definitely made some changes.  These are the things you need to have in your kitchen to start.

peach coffee cake ingredients edited

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar, divided
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature (or not, it works either way)
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt (I used vanilla, the original recipe called for sour cream, but I really like cooking with Greek yogurt)
  •  1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 large ripe peaches, peeled, pitted, and sliced
  • pecans, optional (I’m not about pecans so I didn’t choose to add them)

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and grease a 9 inch square baking pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Using an electric mixer, beat the butter and 1/2 to 3/4 cup granulated sugar for 3-5 minutes.  The original recipe called for a cup of sugar here, but I don’t feel like it needs that much.  You do what makes you happy.
  4. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add in the eggs, one at a time, beating well in between each egg.  Add the Greek yogurt and vanilla and beat until it is smooth.
  5. Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix until it is well combined.
  6. In a small bowl, combine the remaining sugar and cinnamon.  You can use a 1/2 cup of sugar or 1/4.  Mix whatever ratio you prefer.  (ratio. that’s a math word and I’m only halfway through my cup of coffee.)
  7. Spread half of the batter evenly in the bottom of your baking pan.  Top with half of the peach slices and then sprinkle with 2/3 of the cinnamon sugar mix.  Gently spread the remaining batter on top.  Top with the rest of the peach slices and cinnamon sugar.  This is where you would sprinkle pecans if you are a pecan fan (In my world, those two words don’t rhyme, but they do for a lot of people I suppose.  Random thoughts from my brain.  You’re welcome).
  8. Bake for 50 minutes to an hour.  I’d start checking at 50, but I baked mine until an hour.  Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

michael scott ice cream gif

Peach coffee cake edited

Fun fact: you can get basically anything from my grandma if you offer her ice cream.  I’ve traveled in 4 countries with her and she knows every place you can buy ice cream along the way.  I’m not kidding.  Her and my grandpa used to lead many tours in Israel and were good friends with the bus driver.  He knew to stop at every ice cream place for her.  Most of the time, the rest of the bus wouldn’t even know what was going on.

“Why are we stopping?” You’d hear from the back.  Then grandma would jump back on the bus with her ice cream cone and off we’d go.

Don’t use that secret insider information for evil or I’ll have to cut you.

gma amy blarney

In this picture Grandma and I are on top of the Blarney castle.  I guarantee we either just ate ice cream, or are on our way to eat ice cream.

Go forth and enjoy your Peach Coffee Cake!

Summer in a bowl edited

 

 

.

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Dan Lynch says

    GMA is honored to have her ice cream fetish on face book

    On Aug 14, 2016 10:48 AM, “POTS: Finding Smiles in the trials” wrote:

    > smilesinthetrials posted: “Who recognizes those lyrics? Movin’ to the > country, gonna eat me a lot of peaches. Millions of peaches, peaches for > me. Millions of peaches, peaches for free. -from the song ‘Peaches’ by > the Presidents of the United States of America. I don’t know ho” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

