Cinnamon Bun Donuts- Quick & Easy

comments 3
Cooking with POTS & Pans

These do not disappoint.  I woke up this morning and was feeling ok-ish so I visited good old Pinterest to find something yummy to bake this morning.  I invested in a donut pan recently (3 dollars at a garage sale) and I love it.  I like to pretend it makes healthy donuts because they are baked, which to a point is true.

Ok, on to the recipe.  These are so super easy and quick.  5 minutes of prep and 10-13 in the oven.  It does require 2 bowls which I try to avoid because I feel like only pretentious recipes make you use multiple bowls.  I did follow that rule but broke other rules for this recipe.  You’ll see.

You need a handy-dandy donut pan like this one.  If you can’t find one at a garage sale for 3 dollars, amazon is selling them for around 11 dollars.

donut pan

Oh and if you weren’t aware we have a bit of a rivalry in this house.

Anyways, get a couple bowls out and get ready.  This is so quick and easy.  Before I forget, this recipe is from the blog Baker by Nature, but the pictures are from my kitchen this morning.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup + 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 Cup dark brown sugar (I used light because that is what I had)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons granulated sugar
  • 1/2 Cup milk (I used vanilla almond milk)
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg at room temperature (I keep my eggs in the fridge like a normal person so I used cold right out of the fridge and it was just fine)

For Glaze:

  • 2 Tablespoons milk (Again I used vanilla almond milk)
  • 1 Cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and lightly grease donut pan.
  2. In a large bowl whisk together the dry ingredients.
  3. In a smaller bowl whisk together the milk, melted butter and egg.  The original recipe said to gently fold the wet mixture into the dry and don’t overmix.  I don’t believe in witchcraft so I just stirred it until it was mixed well, but made sure not to whip it up too much.
  4. Spoon it into the prepared donut pan and throw it in the oven.  Set your timer for 10 minutes and then start your coffee and take your pills.  They are done when the donuts spring back when lightly pressed.  For me that was 13 minutes.  Let them cool for 2-3 minutes in the pan before you transfer to a wire rack to cool further.
  5. Whip up the glaze mixture and once the donuts have cooled a few more minutes dip them in and let the glaze set (I managed to wait 15 whole minutes) before eating them!

Look at these beautiful donuts!  Without the glaze these are only 185 calories each!

cinnamon bun donuts

Today is off to a fantastic start so far.  I hope your day is going great so far too!  If not, just whip up these!

3 Comments

  1. Colleen Knauber says

    Wow, those look great and you may have persuaded me to get a doughnut pan. Any morning baking is admirable. And doughnuts are impressive. But did you check the hens for a warm egg? Also there was talk tonight of you making chocolate doughnuts, which was an idea we all support.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

