Daddy-O, Pops, Pa, Dad

comment 1
Uncategorized

I bet you thought I would forget to mention that it’s father’s day and I happen to like my dad quite a bit.

See, he’s taught me many important things in this life.  Let me share with you some of my favorites, although of course this doesn’t include all of the wisdom he has shared with me over the years.

  1. He taught me that I would be seconds away from death if I ever chose to call him Pa or Pops.
  2. He taught me the importance of working hard and saving my money for the things I wanted in life, yet the summer that I backed into my boss’ truck on the last week of work and lost most of my summer money, he compensated a bit to make sure I could still buy a few things and have fun.
  3. He is the king of ‘motivating’ about safety and always has time for a lecture about the ever-present dangers.
  4. He taught me that diet Pepsi is far greater than diet Coke.
  5. He taught me the phrase, ‘I need to speak to the manager’.
  6. He made it clear since as long as I can remember that family is number one.  He has always gone out of his way to take care of mom, and all of us even when it required driving long distances to the only 7-eleven with banana in the slurpee machine.
  7. He took apart and put my water bed together about 27 times at least when I wanted it moved in my bedroom, or from house to my apartment, which taught me how incredibly annoying and unrealistic water beds are.
  8. He taught me the importance of money management, including the highly technical black and red pen system.
  9. He taught me that he will always, always be there for me no matter what.
  10. He taught me how a woman should be treated by the way that he has always treated my mom, even though they occasionally fight about ladles and spatulas, which is hilarious.

My dad is a bit predictable in some ways.  He is never going to drink coffee or wear plaid shorts.  He is always going to measure, re-measure, double check, and check one more time just to be sure.  He is never going to start choosing to watch ‘I Love Lucy’.  He is always going to be sad when I make cookies that are anything but chocolate chip.  When he passes a sub-par driver, we would all be shocked if he didn’t give the look.  He is always going to let Time Warner know when they are providing service anything less than perfect.  He is always going to be available for my health or safety, even if it means driving 8 or 9 miles and beating police to the house when a stalker is there.

dad and I

I’m the most blessed woman in the world to be raised by such a man of integrity, and also get to marry a man who upholds the same values.  This guy I’m married to is such a fantastic father.  He would go out of his way to do anything and everything for Carter.  He puts his health, safety and happiness above all and would sell his favorite gun or get another job in a heartbeat if Carter needed something.

On my first date with Tom he said that he was a dad and his son was the most important thing in the world to him and that if I had a problem with that, it was nice to meet me, but no more dates would be in the cards.

I’ve watched him slowly instill numerous values into Carter and it makes me proud, yet simultaneously amazed by his patience.  I can’t count the number of pancakes he’s made on zero hours of sleep.  The number of times he has swallowed curse words to build the  Mouse Trap board a 37th time is impressive.

Carter has said since he first started talking that ‘Daddy fights the bad guys.  Daddy always wins.’  He truly believes that his daddy is a superhero, and how right he is.

tom and carter kilts

Though my father-in-law is a man of few words, those words once included him telling Tom that he should probably give me a heads up that we were going to pick up a dead elk so I could prepare myself somewhat, and for that I am forever grateful.

1 Comment

  1. rasm47 says

    Wonderful words, but more recently the reverse has occurred– you are now the example to ME- I am now learning from you in your trials- and I’m not sure anything I did will ever match what you’re showing me today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

