Craft Project: We Have Too Many States

Way too many. Painting tiny stars is not my strong suit. My nail girl would be amazing at it though.

Anyways, here is my newest craft done. If I remember from my 1st grade art mom, who also happens to be my mom, I believe this is ‘mixed media’ because it uses both paint and wood burning. I could be wrong.

20160515_222049

 

I like that the piece of tree came from our property. I frequently sit in the camp chair out by the goats while Tom chops wood and then I get first pick at all the ‘cute’ pieces.

I showed it to Tom last night when the painting was mostly done. Wouldn’t you know that the gun is wrong. I showed him the picture that I used as a model and how I had perfectly replicated the gun. He said the picture is wrong too (something about the ABC123. This is usually when I start spouting off letter and number combos like 36D in these conversations.)  It could be right if it was a Marine. You see I happen to be married to an Army man. I can’t make my peace with this error. We figured it out. One of the Marines dropped it out of the helicopter and Mr. Army picked it up. I can make my peace with that. Crisis averted.

I had fun with this project. I enjoyed that it was small enough that I could sit on the couch with my feet and legs elevated while I worked on it.  Anytime my hands would shake it was clearly break time. That was slightly annoying.  I had a fair amount of arm pain at times, but eees ok.

20160515_222100

If you’re looking for a fun new craft tool, the wood burner tool is pretty affordable and definitely versatile. The pinterest is full of great ideas, and I imagine it’s even easier if you have talent or skill!

Who is trying out something new? Tell me all about it.

Ok, I’ve been up since 0200 and it’s now 0530. Here’s hoping maybe I can get a few minutes of sleep.

Have a happy day full of smiles! I get to visit with a friend and I have physical therapy. I see coffee in my future!

 

5 thoughts on “Craft Project: We Have Too Many States

  1. madrenellie says:

    I am trying acrylic painting. All I have ever done was watercolor, which is so unforgiving. Being able to paint over is great! I have a feeling wood burning is also unforgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

