Monday Frame Games

comments 5
The Brain Gym

If my calculations are correct, then this is in fact Monday.  Seems like a good time to have a cup of coffee and wake up the old brain with some frame games.  If you aren’t familiar, let me explain.

Growing up we always got a Sunday paper.  The Sunday paper was exciting because it included the advertisements for local stores and upcoming sales.  It also included the USA Today Weekend magazine, which I never really cared about, but my mom was always a believer of logic puzzles, critical thinking, using your brain and other such nonsense.  Anyways, this magazine always included a workbook page with puzzles at the end, similar to most magazines having a crossword puzzle at the back.  Each week there were four new ‘Frame Games’ to be solved.  Each week she would look at the puzzles and proclaim that she knew them all (which she always did) and then pass it around to my brother, my dad, and I to look at and see if we could each figure them out too.  We were usually lucky to get one or two each, but yet each Sunday we all played along in the hopes of catching up with her ridiculously logical brain.

Let me show you an example.

framegame1

Sometimes the word is written in a certain direction or the size and placement is trying to give you a clue as well.

Answer: Round of Applause

Ok, ready to play? I’ll post all of the answers down at the bottom.

  1. framgame2
  2. framegame4
  3. framegame3
  4. framegame5
  5. framegame6
  6. framegame7 FYI, I couldn’t get this one.
  7. framegame8
  8. framegame9
  9. framegame10
  10. framegame11 I also could not figure this one out.

 

Ok please let me know in the comments how you did!  Did you get your brain working?  I tried several in the pre-coffee state and that was rough let me tell you.

 

 

Not yet.  Keep scrolling.

 

 

 

 

Keep on scrolling for answers.

 

 

 

Ok, I’ll post the answers next.  Don’t be cheating!

 

 

Answers:

  1. Scrambled eggs
  2. Saved by the bell
  3. Sea to shining sea
  4. Stretch Limo
  5. Head over heels in love
  6. Bad hair day.  (Did you get that one, mom?)
  7. One foot in the grave
  8. Microscope
  9. Eaten alive
  10. Hammer the point home.  (Did anyone get this one?)

I hope you enjoyed some Monday brain work.  Thanks for visiting the brain gym!

Go enjoy your day/afternoon/evening and remember to smile!

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. madrenellie says

    The hardest one for me was #7, but I didn’t quit till I got it. I did get the bad hair day pretty quickly once I ruled out bunny or rabbit. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words about me. Your brother’s love of words (and pointing out the misuse of one) came from these Sunday AM times and the crosswords too.

    Like

  2. Colleen Knauber says

    I am thrilled and surprised to easily get them all. Of course it’s the end of the day and my brain was all warmed up. I still officially don’t believe in logic puzzles. If I’m going to have to think I want to be paid for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

