2 Years Ago Today…

Leave a comment
Bobby Pins & Bullets / Smile Makers

A couple years ago Tom and I went on a much needed little getaway to the Oregon Coast.  We did the typical tourist things, and the Amy and Tom things like eating Chinese food at 10 pm the night we got there and watching Family Guy.   Tom had told me before we even left for this trip to not be expecting a proposal and that it would not be while we were in Oregon.  He just didn’t want me to get my hopes up, understandably.  Our second day we were in Depoe Bay doing some “whale watching”.  I use quotes because I think seeing whales live is about as realistic as possible as seeing unicorns and leprechauns.  Anyways, we went to get in the car and leave to go on the road to the next city.  Tom looked up the sidewalk at a statue and said he wanted to read what the plaque said.  I didn’t think anything of it and was walking along with him behind me.  He was doing something on his phone while he was walking along.  We got farther down the sidewalk and Tom said, “I tagged you in a post on Facebook.”  I said ok and was looking out at the ocean.  He said aren’t you going to look at it?  He was standing behind me and I took out my phone to look.

This is what I saw:

2 years, 3 months, 18 days, 11 hours and 20 minutes ago it all started here with an accepted friend request. I thought it would be fitting for chapter two of the next greatest romance story to also start here.

I don’t deserve the happiness you’ve brought me. Nothing in my life that I’ve done warrants the love you’ve brought to me. Few people get to experience what I live with you every day.

Our love rivals that of any work of fiction. Centuries ago poets would have written of us. In our ancient Ireland and Scotland bards would sing songs of us and carve our story in stone pillars for future generations. You and I and the love we share would be the inspiration of paintings, sculptures and tales passed down in lore speaking of true love. You’re my true story book romance.

There are no words I can join to express what you mean to me. You’ve brought me a happiness, peace and contentment prior to you I’d have sworn was impossible. I look in your eyes and I see purpose. I hold you and I’m home. I used to say I never needed anybody. I need you. I would be lost without you because only when I’m with you am I complete.

Look at us right now. We are at the edge of the world. It’s just us, backs against the ocean us against the world. That is something I want for the rest of my life. So…. Amy Hephzibah…. Will you turn around as I am on bended knee and let me ask the question that will bind us together in love forever, complete me as a man and make me the happiest guy in the world?

And when I got done crying of course I said yes.  The ring was and is amazing.  The Tom was and is so incredibly amazing.  Everyday I love him more and more.

P.S. I think this is the perfect first post for my Bobby Pins & Bullets category.

proposal

 

Leave a Reply

