Physical Therapy & Pie

comments 6
Hold My Gatorade and Watch This / Physical Therapy & Exercise

Well physical therapy was hard today.  No, actually getting ready for physical therapy was hard.  I almost didn’t go just because I felt so shitty after brushing my teeth, throwing my hair in a pony tail, and putting on workout clothes.  It’s not like I even tried to get fancy pretty, just makeup-free and workout clothes.

I managed to do recumbent bike for 10 minutes slowly.  It’s always encouraging to be sitting on the bike next to a cute little old lady and have her be pedaling twice as fast as me.  Sometimes I feel like I don’t compliment people on their autonomic nervous systems enough, like ‘hey, look at you regulating your temperature and controlling your sweat and digesting your food and standing up all at once while keeping your blood pressure and heart rate in control. You’re looking good. You got it going on.’  Hey, we all have our strengths right.  I got off the bike and made it across the gym to my table where I laid down until my therapist was ready to meet with me.  He walked around the corner and said, ‘that kinda day huh?’ as he put the oximeter on my finger.  I’m glad he gets that there are good days and bad.

I couldn’t do stairs today, which was ok because I knew the entire rest of the day would be completely non-existent if I did.  I felt a little discouraged about the lack of strength or ability in physical therapy today and Tom pointed out that at least I walked to the car at the end instead of being carried out like last time, so it’s still a win.  I don’t know who runs the scoreboard, but put me down for a point.

physical therapy putty

This is partly to show you how I work on strengthening my hands and forearms, but also to show you my cute nails.

This afternoon included a tiny pie and coffee.  Everyday should include a tiny pie.  Mr. Cyrus O’Leary should look into a delivery service like the newspaper, just every morning leave it on the porch.  I would subscribe.

pie

I hope the rest of you are finding the happy in your day too!

 

6 Comments

  1. Kirsten B says

    It’s not Mr. Cyrus O’Leary’s pies but the Cheesecake Factory has a monthly subscription for their delicious cheesecakes by mail 🙂

    Like

  2. Colleen Knauber says

    I’m afraid if pie was left on your doorstep it would be dragged under the stairs to feed the beast that lives there. And I don’t like to brag but my autonomic system has been bug free this last week. Wait…do we count blood sugar? But your nails always win.

    Like

  3. rachache says

    I would also like pie…..

    Some days are like that, even in Australia. Glad to see you made it to and from therapy! Continuing to keep you in my prayers.

    Like

  4. Madrenellie says

    My happy was time with my girl after my PT! You are my pie, Amy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

