5 Minutes of Work- Beer Bread

comments 3
Cooking with POTS & Pans

Those of you following along who have POTS are aware of the challenges that cooking presents.  I really enjoy cooking.  I find it challenging and relaxing, but most of all rewarding.  Well, things have changed in my life and now I need to find recipes that can be prepared while sitting down.  I also have problems with my arms fatiguing very quickly and becoming painful and useless.  So stirring, chopping, and kneading can all cause problems.  Oh, and if you have the opportunity, have someone else take out the bag of flour for you.  It only fits on a lower shelf in my kitchen so having someone else bend down and put it on the counter for you can save you big time.  Nothing sucks more than preparing one recipe and having to spend the rest of the day(s) laying down.

It’s my intention to share some of my favorite recipes that can either be done with several breaks in between or that require very little time in preparation.  I love recipes that say “mix dough and chill one hour”.  That’s perfect because I also need to chill for at least one hour.

This recipe is from the blog Living Well Spending Less, although I discovered it once upon a time in one of those ‘load more pins… load more pins… load more pins’ sessions on the Pinterest late at night.

Anyways, it is my husband’s favorite bread I make and that includes the super annoying recipes that have to rise 6 times and take 18-24 hours (by the way, I hate those recipes).

Basically you throw 6 ingredients into the mixer and let it do the work.  Then you put it in a greased loaf pan and throw it in the oven.  50 minutes later you brush some butter on top then 10 minutes later it’s done.  Easy and delicious.

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cups self-rising flour
  • (if using regular flour add 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1 teaspoon salt)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 12 oz. can beer (any variety)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 stick butter

Instructions

  1. Mix flour and sugar together in large bowl.
  2. Add beer and egg to flour mixture and mix well.
  3. Scrape batter into greased loaf pan; bake at 350 for 50 minutes.
  4. Remove bread from oven; melt butter. Brush melted butter onto bread and return to oven to bake 5-10 additional minutes.
  5. Cool on wire rack; serve with a hearty soup or beef stew!

 

EasyBeerBread09

Enjoy!

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Irish White Bean & Cabbage Stew – POTS: Finding Smiles in the trials

Leave a Reply

