Your Brain Shouldn’t be on Summer Break!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything in the good old Brain Gym category.  Even though it is summer time, I feel like we ought to still be using our brains probably.  Making this graphic was a ‘Two Cup O’ Coffee’ kinda thing!

The Brain Gym graphic

Growing up, each summer while my brother and I were out of school my mom would pick a specific subject of study and all summer we would do tasks, keep a journal, and go on field trips relating to whatever the focus of study for the summer was.  I can recall bugs (I actually still enjoyed this one because we got fun little bug hunting and capturing sets), constellations and stars, fruit and vegetables, gardening, the postal service (this one was especially fun because everyone in the house had their own mailbox on their door), banking (including a tour of the bank vault which was really cool), and I think those are all that come to mind at the moment.  Either way, we were always excited to find out what our study would be and the accompanying activities and field trips.

Looking back I see now that it was a mom trick.  We thought it was fun, but she was secretly making us LEARN while we were supposed to be on a break from learning!  The nerve.

How are you keeping your brain actively challenged?  I realize that most of you are not on a summer break, as many of you have full time jobs year round.  However, I know I can get into a rut of not doing anything to keep my mind engaged and I know just how unhealthy that is.

I’ve solved all your problems.  Look no further.  Simply keep reading this post and give your best effort at solving these different riddles.  I’ll post the answers down at the bottom!

What can travel around the world while staying in a corner? 

 

What has an eye, but can not see?

 

What has a head and a tail, but no body?

 

Take off my skin.  I won’t cry, but you will.  What am I? 

 

A man is pushing his car along the road when he comes to a hotel.  He shouts, “I’m bankrupt!”  Why?

 

 

Look these over and try again if you didn’t get them all.

 

 

 

Think outside the box.

 

 

 

Ok, I’ll post the answers down below now.

 

 

 

 

 

Answers:

1. A stamp.  A stamp can travel around the world while staying in a corner.

2. A needle.  A needle has an eye, but can not see.  Also though, a potato technically can have eyes and not see, so if the potato you were thinking of had only one eye, then that is also correct.

3. A coin.  A coin has a head and a tail, but no body.

4. An onion.  Take off an onion’s skin and you’ll be crying, unless you are superhero.

5.  He was playing monopoly.  Which, by the way, is a horrible game.

family monopoly game gif

monopoly what year

The rest of the monopoly memes were both hilarious, but also fairly ‘inappropriate’.

Good job using your brains, friends!  Go rest now.  Maybe have a cold beverage.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment